Heyyy wassup everyone!
Hope you guys are doing good, don't really know who reads these or If anyone does but momma Spaddy told me I had to write one every week and write in my journal every day so I'm doing it anyways! This week was pretty good, we've been able to meet with more people and get out more which has been super nice but it's still so weird with everything that's going on. We've been able to go out and contact people on the street a little which was sweet we met some dope guys and have set up some times to meet which is great. It's super weird though everyone is like on edge and super trippy or you get these people who don't give two hoots about it and start wanting to give hugs and shaking hands. We've been picking up a lot of the online work too! I have this ad the church has paid for that's up on Facebook and it pops up on people's feed and they can click on it and it sends you a message! And we've had tons of people clicking on it and commenting which is sick! Not all of them were super solid and some of them were even roasting me about playing "American football" but they're just missing out! We had one dude click on it and he started chatting with us and the next thing we know he sent us a video and me and my comp were laughing so hard. This guy starts speaking in super Norwegian accented English and says " Hello guys this is Plåt here, I actually have a guest room that I built for my ex wife who left me for the JW church, you guys could come stay here and preach the good news to people here in the area . You know we have actually never had Mormon missionaries here before so it would be interesting!" Then he goes "what do you say Laura should we have the Mormons stay with us?" And this little goat walks in the doors and starts baaaing. Now think of that said in a sing song voice it was hilarious. Then later in the week we were just going around the city talking with people and he texts us and says "hey i see you guys come to this pizza place and I buy pizza" and we were like sweet ok. We show up there and this dude tells us his life story and how his family and wife have shunned him and won't talk to him because be left the JWs and now he's an anti JW and has a YouTube channel to help people " leave the cult". Dude doesn't believe in God anymore and doesn't have a desire to learn more but he complimented us and said we do it a lot better then other churches. So that was funny!
Sunday it was Norway's National Day and it's usually like crazy, the entire country is bumping and going crazy but everything got canceled this year so it was pretty mild. Still way fun though, we saw some small parades and everyone was dressed up super nice in their Norwegian costumes and it was the one day we didn't look like weirdos walking around in suits because everyone else was! It's super funny too because all the high school graduates party so hard from the 1st of May to the 17 and they wear these jump suit things and buy buses and drive around breaking all the commandments it's pretty awful but hilarious to watch. We walked passed this group of guys on a balcony and they were just hammered and I started talking with them and they were like hey boys you guys doing anything fun today? Come up and party with us! And I was like nah its ight but I bet you guys couldn't shotgun those beers and they tipped em back it was so funny. I would have destroyed them though ( with a throwback mountain dew of course ). But other than that nothing to much, the sun here refuses to go down and it's so easy to wake up now so that's nice. We get about 20 hours of sunlight a day, it's nice. But the weather has been trash it's so weird, we get snow one day and sunny the next. Place is wack but I love it! Me and my comp are homies so it's super fun, we work hard and are always laughing so it's a good time. The mission is so dope and you change so much!
Hope you all have a good week!
Eldste Spaddy
No comments:
Post a Comment